

	CONTENTS • INHOUD		
No.		Page No.	Gazette No.
	GENERAL NOTICE		
2906	Local Government: Municipal Structures Act (117/1998): Determination of number of Councillors in terms of the Act	9 	208

## GENERAL NOTICE

## NOTICE 2906 OF 2009

## DETERMINATION OF NUMBER OF COUNCILLORS IN TERMS OF SECTION 18(3) OF THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT: MUNICIPAL STRUCTURES ACT, 1998

Under the powers vested in me by section 18(3) of the Local Government: Municipal Structures Act, 1998 (Act No. 117 of 1998), and in accordance with the formula determined by the Minister responsible for Local Government in Notice No. 750, published in Government Gazette No. 32407 dated 15 July 2009, I, Mpempetjane Kgaogelo Lekgoro, Member of the Executive Council responsible for Local Government in the Province of Gauteng, hereby determine the number of councillors for the municipal councils for the municipalities in the Province of Gauteng as set out in the Schedule hereto.

This determination shall apply to the municipal councils to be elected during the next general local government elections, the date of which is still to be proclaimed, and shall become effective on such date.

Given under my hand at Johannesburg, this 7<sup>th</sup> day of September 2009.

**M K LEKGORO** 

MEC RESPONSIBLE FOR LOCAL GOVERNMENT: GAUTENG PROVINCE

....

Name of Municipality	Number of Councillors
City of Johannesburg Metropolitan Municipality	260
City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality	210
Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality	202
West Rand District Municipality	44
Mogale City Local Municipality	68
Randfontein Local Municipality	44
Westonaria Local Municipality	31
Merafong Local Municipality	56
Sedibeng District Municipality	48
Emfuleni Local Municipality	89
Midvaal Local Municipality	27
Lesedi Local Municipality	26

!. |

1

.....

## SCHEDULE