







South Africa

Immigration Act, 2002

## Determination of Correctional Facilities as Temporary Places of Detention of Illegal Foreigners Pending Deportation, for the Duration of the Period of the National State of Disaster

Government Notice 512 of 2020

Legislation as at 7 May 2020

FRBR URI: /akn/za/act/qn/2020/512/eng@2020-05-07

There may have been updates since this file was created.

PDF created on 21 February 2024 at 21:45.

#### Check for updates



#### About this collection

The legislation in this collection has been reproduced as it was originally printed in the Government Gazette, with improved formatting and with minor typographical errors corrected. All amendments have been applied directly to the text and annotated. A scan of the original gazette of each piece of legislation (including amendments) is available for reference.

This is a free download from LawLibrary and is presented in collaboration with the African Legal Information Institute, the Judicial Institute for Africa and the Laws. Africa Legislation Commons, a collection of African legislation that is digitised by Laws. Africa and made available for free.

www.lawlibrary.org.za | info@lawlibrary.org.za

www.laws.africa | info@laws.africa

There is no copyright on the legislative content of this document.

This PDF copy is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License (CC BY 4.0). Share widely and freely.

### **South Africa**

**Immigration Act, 2002** 

# Determination of Correctional Facilities as Temporary Places of Detention of Illegal Foreigners Pending Deportation, for the Duration of the Period of the National State of Disaster

**Government Notice 512 of 2020** 

Published in Government Gazette 43292 on 7 May 2020

Commenced on 7 May 2020

[This is the version of this document from 7 May 2020.]

I, Jackson W. McKay, Acting Director-General of the Department of Home Affairs, hereby, in terms of section 34(1) of the Immigration Act, 2002 (Act No. 13 of 2002), determine the following Correctional Facilities of the Department of Correctional Services as temporary places of detention of illegal foreigners, for the duration of the period of the national state of disaster as declared in terms of the Disaster Management Act, 2002 (Act No. 57 of 2002), read with its Regulations, pending deportation or transfer to Lindela Holding Facility for purposes of deportation:

DCS Region	Province	Correctional Facilities	
		Name of Management Area	Facility / Section of Facility
KZN	KwaZulu-Natal	Durban	Durban Medium C Unit B 2 Cell 5, 6, 7 and 8
		Pietermarizburg	Pietermaritzburg Medium B Unit D Cell 1 and 2
LMN	Limpopo	Rooigrond	Lichtenburg Unit A Single Cell
		Polokwane	Tzaneen Correctional Centre Cell 3 (male) Polokwane Female Unit Cell 9 (female)
	Mpumalanga	Barberton	Nelspruit Correctional Centre Unit D Cell 1
		Witbank	Witbank Correctional Centre Unit J Cell 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6
	North West	Rustenburg	Losperfontein Observation cell
		Klerksdorp	Potchefstroom Correctional Centre Unit B Cell D1 (males) Unit B Cell 10 (females)
		Rooigrond	Lichtenburg Unit A Single Cell

Western Cape	Western Cape	Southern Cape	Prins Albert Sentenced Unit Cell 7 and 8
FSNC	Free State	Grootvlei	Wepener Correctional Centre Unit B
	Northern Cape	Kimberly	Kimberly Correctional Centre Admission Unit
		Upington	Upington Correctional Centre Unit E 3 Cell 2
EC	Eastern Cape	St Albans	Port Elizabeth Special Care Unit single cells
GP	Gauteng	KM II	Atteridgeville Correctional Centre Unit B

The minimum standards relating to the detention of illegal foreigners shall be as prescribed in regulation 33(5) of the Immigration Regulations, 2014.

J W McKay

Acting Director-General

Department of Home Affairs