







South Africa

Disaster Management Act, 2002

Determination of Alert Levels and Hotspots

Government Notice 608-A of 2020

Legislation as at 28 May 2020

FRBR URI: /akn/za/act/gn/2020/608-a/eng@2020-05-28

There may have been updates since this file was created.

PDF created on 21 February 2024 at 23:00.

Check for updates



About this collection

The legislation in this collection has been reproduced as it was originally printed in the Government Gazette, with improved formatting and with minor typographical errors corrected. All amendments have been applied directly to the text and annotated. A scan of the original gazette of each piece of legislation (including amendments) is available for reference.

This is a free download from LawLibrary and is presented in collaboration with the African Legal Information Institute, the Judicial Institute for Africa and the Laws. Africa Legislation Commons, a collection of African legislation that is digitised by Laws. Africa and made available for free.

www.lawlibrary.org.za | info@lawlibrary.org.za

www.laws.africa | info@laws.africa

There is no copyright on the legislative content of this document.

This PDF copy is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License (CC BY 4.0). Share widely and freely.

Determination of Alert Levels and Hotspots Contents

Paragraph (a)	1	_
Paragraph (b)	1	

South Africa

Disaster Management Act, 2002

Determination of Alert Levels and Hotspots

Government Notice 608-A of 2020

Published in Government Gazette 43364 on 28 May 2020

Assented to on 28 May 2020

Commenced on 28 May 2020

[This is the version of this document from 28 May 2020.]

[Repealed by <u>Disaster Management Act: Regulations relating to</u> COVID-19: Amendment (Government Notice 763 of 2020) on 12 July 2020]

I, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, designated under section 3 of the Disaster Management Act, 2002 (Act No. 57 of 2002), having declared a national state of disaster, published in Government Gazette No. 43096 on 15 March 2020, hereby in terms of regulation 3(1) of the Regulations issued by me under section 27(2) of the Disaster Management Act, 2002, after consultation with the relevant Cabinet members, determine as follows:

- (a) Alert Level 3 will apply nationally from 1 June 2020.
- (b) The following areas are declared as hotspots:

Geographical area or cluster of geographical areas declared as hotspots for COVID-19

Metros
Tshwane
Johannesburg
Ekurhuleni
Ethekwini
Nelson Mandela Bay
Buffalo City
Cape Town
Districts
West Coast, Overberg and Cape Winelands district municipality
Chris Hani district in the Eastern Cape
iLembe district in KwaZulu-Natal

Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, MP

Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs