

	CONTENTS · INHOUD		
No.		Page No.	Gazette No.
	GENERAL NOTICE		
Justice	and Constitutional Development, Department of		
General	Notice		
666	Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996: Invitation for nomination of candidates for appointment to th Commission of Gender Equality	e 3	28866

# GENERAL NOTICE

### NOTICE 666 OF 2006

### DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE AND CONSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENT

### INVITATION FOR NOMINATION OF CANDIDATES FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE COMMISSION ON GENDER EQUALITY

The Commission on Gender Equality (the Commission) has, in terms of section 187 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, a mandate to promote respect for gender equality and the protection, development and attainment of gender equality. It has the power, as regulated by national legislation, to monitor, investigate, research, educate, lobby, advise and report on issues concerning gender equality.

The Commission on Gender Equality Act, 1996 (Act No. 39 of 1996) (the Act), came into operation on 8 August 1996 and provides for the composition, powers, functions and functioning of the Commission and for all other matters connected therewith. The Commission consists of a chairperson and no fewer than seven and no more than eleven members. The members of the Commission may be appointed as full-time or part-time members and shall hold office for such fixed term, not exceeding five years, as the President may determine at the time of each appointment. The terms of office of 6 full-time members of the Commission and of 5 part-time members of the Commission have expired.

The Minister for Justice and Constitutional Development, Ms B.S. Mabandla, MP, hereby, invites interested parties to propose candidates for appointment by the President to the Commission. Candidates must be South African citizens who are fit and proper persons for appointment to the Commission and be broadly representative of the South African community, have a record of commitment to the promotion of gender equality and be persons with applicable knowledge and experience with regard to matters connected with the objects of the Commission.

The Minister for Justice and Constitutional Development will recommend that the next members of the Commission, except for the Chairperson, be appointed by the President, on recommendation of Parliament, for a term of office not exceeding five years. (Any person whose term of office as a member of the Commission has expired, may be reappointed for one additional term.)

### THE REMUNERATION PACKAGE CONSISTS OF THE FOLLOWING:

Full-time member: R 445 914.00 per annum. Part-time member: R211.00 per hour, provided that this does not exceed a maximum of 100 hours per month.

A member may structure the total inclusive flexible remuneration package according to his or her individual needs.

Proposals, accompanied by motivation, concerning the suitability of each candidate and a comprehensive curriculum vitae, must be submitted before or on 26 June 2006, to: The Director-General: Department of Justice and Constitutional Development, Private Bag X 81, Pretoria 0001 or hand delivered at: The Department of Justice and Constitutional Development Momentum Centre, 329 Pretorius Street (c/o Pretorius & Prinsloo Streets), Pretoria, 0001, For attention: Mr Simon Mahlangu, 9<sup>th</sup> Floor East Tower, E 9: 22.

N.B Interested parties must re-submit [their] proposals in respect of all candidates that were previously proposed subsequent to publication of Notice 2781 of 2004, Notice 978 of 2005, and Notices 295 and 318 of 2006.

Enquiries: Mr Simon Mahlangu, tel. (012) 357 8171.

## KITSISO YA KAKARETSO

### KITSISO 666 YA 2006

### LEFAPHA LA BOSIAMISE LE TLHABOLOLO YA MOLAOTHEO

### MEMO YA THLOPHO YA BONTHLOPENG GO BA MO KHOMISHENING YA TEKATEKANO YA BONG

Khomisheni ya Tekatekano ya Bong (Khomisheni), go ya ka karolo ya 187 ya Molaotheo wa Repaboliki ya Aforika Borwa, 1996, e na le maikarabelo a go tsweletsa le go tlotla tekatekano ya bong le tshireletso, tlhabololo, le phitlhelelo ya tekatekano ya bong. E na le maatla, jaaka go beilwe ka peo molao wa bosetshaba, go tlhotlhomisa, go batlisisa, go ruta, go ngoka, go gakolola le go bega merero e e amang tekatekano ya bong.

Molao wa Khomisheni ya Tekatekano ya Bong, 1996 (Act No. 39 ya 1996) (Molao) o tsene tirong ka 8 August 1996, gape o bega ka ga sebopego, maatla, ditiro, le ditiro tsa Khomisheni, le go akaretsa le merero e mengwe. Khomisheni e na le Modulasitilo le maloko a seng ka tlase go a supileng (7), fela maloko a se fete somenngwe (11). Maloko a Khomisheni go ka tlhophiwa a nakwana le a leruri, mme a tla dira go fitlha nako eo e sa feteng mengwaga e metlhano (5), go ya ka mo Moporesidente atla bo a laetse ka teng fa a tla be a dira tlhopho ngwe le ngwe. Nako ya tiro ya maloko a Khomisheni a marataro (6) a leruri le a matlhano (5) a nakwana e fedile.

Tona ya Bosiamise le Tlhabololo ya Molaotheo, Mme B.S. Mabandla, MP, o mema bao ba nang le kgatlhego go tlhopa bo ritlhopeng go tla go tlhopiwa ke Moporesidente wa naga go ba mo Khomishening ya Tekatekano ya Bong. Bo ntlhopheng ba tshwanetse go ba baagi ba Afrika Borwa, bao mongwe le mongwe wa bona a nonofileng ebile a siametse go ka tlhopiwa go emela setshaba sa Afrika Borwa, ba be le tshupo ya maikemisetso a go godisa tekatekano ya bong, gape e be batho bao ba nang le kitso e malebana le ditiro tse di mabapi le maikemisetso a Khomisheni.

Tona ya Bosiamise le Tlhabololo ya Molaotheo o tla atlenegisa gore maloko a Khomosheni, ntle le Modulasetilo, a tlhophiwe ke Moporesidente wa naga ka katlenegiso ya Palamente ka nako <u>eo e ka sefitego dilemo tse tlhano</u> (Motho mongwe le mongwe yo nako ya gagwe ya ofisi efedileng, ene ele leloko la Khomishini, a ka thlophiwa gape sebaka se le sengwe).

#### DITUELO DI TSAMAYA JAANA:

Mokhornishinara wa lobaka lo lo leele: R445 914.00 ka ngwaga. Mokhornishinara wa lobaka la nakwana:R211.00 (ka ura fa ele gore go ka se fete bontsi ba di ura tse lekgolo ka kgwedi). Dikgetho di nne le thotloetso ya go bontsha tshiamo ya ntlhopeng mongwe le mongwe, le CV ka botlalo, e tshwanetse go romelwa pele ga 26 June 2006 go: The Director-General: Department of Justice and Constitutional Development, Private Bag X 81, Pretoria 0001 or hand delivered at: The Department of Justice and Constitutional Development Momentum Centre, 329 Pretorius Street (c/o Pretorius & Prinsloo Streets), Pretoria, 0001, For attention: Mr Simon Mahlangu, 9<sup>th</sup> Floor East Tower, E 9: 22.

N.B Batho ba ba nang le kgatlhego ba romele maina a batho ba ba neng baba kgethile pele goya ka kitsiso 2781 ya 2004, kitsiso 978 ya 2005, le dikitsiso 295 ya 2006 le 318 ya 2006:

Dipotsiso: Mr S Mahlangu, tel (012) 357 8171.