CONTENTS • INHOUD

No. Page Gazette
No. No.

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

Environmental Affairs and Tourism, Department of

Government Notice

396 National Environmental Management: Air Quality Act (39/2004): Intentiion to declare the Highveld Priority Area in terms of section 18 (1) . 3 29864

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND TOURISM

No. 396 4 May 2007

NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT: AIR QUALITY ACT, 2004 (ACT NO. 39 OF 2004)

NOTICE OF INTENTION TO DECLARE THE HIGHVELD PRIORITY AREA IN TERMS SECTION 18(1) OF THE NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT: AIR QUALITY ACT, 2004 (ACT NO, 39 OF 2004)

The Minister of Environmental Affairs and Tourism in terms of section 57(1) of the National Environmental Management: Air Quality Act, 2004 (Act No. 39 of 2004), hereby gives notice of his intention to declare an Identified area of eastern Gauteng and western Mpumalanga, an area to be known as the "Highveld Priority Area", as a Priority Area in terms of section 18(1) of the said Act.

The Minister is satisfied that the ambient air quality Within the proposed Highveld Priority Area Is exceeding or may exceed ambient air quality standards. alternatively that a situation exists within the proposed Highveld Priority Area which is causing or may cause, a significant negative impact on air quality in **the** area. and that the area requires specific air quality management action to rectify the situation.

A description of the proposed boundaries of the Highveld Priority Area is set out in the Schedule to this Notice.

Interested persons are requested to submit written representations on. or objections to, the proposed Highveld Priority Area to the Minister within 30 days from the date of publication of this notice. Comments must be submitted to the Director-General; Environmental Affairs and Tourism, Private Bag x 447, Pretoria, 0001.

Marthinus van Schalkwyk MP

MinIster of Environmental Affairs and Tourism

Martinus van Schoelberg

SCHEDULE

The Identified area to be known as the Highveld Pliority Area declared in terms of section 18(1) of the said Act includes the areas R1ustrated on the map below which includes the areas contained within the boundaries of: (i) the Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality in Gauteng Province; (ii) Lesedi Local Municipality (Sedibeng) in Gauteng Province; (iii) Govan Mbeki Local Municipality (Gert Sibande) in Mpumalanga Province; (iv) Dipaleseng Local Municipality (Gart Sibande) in Mpumalanga Province; (vi) Lekwa Local Municipality (Gert Sibande) in Mpumalanga Province; (vii) Musakallgwa Local Municipality (Gert Sibande) in Mpumalanga Province; (viii) Pixley ka Serne Local Municipality (Gert Sibande) in Mpumalanga Province; (viii) Emalahleni Local Municipality (Nkangala) in Mpumalanga Province; and (x) the Sieve Tshwete Local Municipality (Nkangala) in the Mpumalanga Province.

