

Government Gazette Staatskoerant

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA REPUBLIEK VAN SUID-AFRIKA

Vol. 576

Pretoria, 14 June 2013

No. 36568

N.B. The Government Printing Works will not be held responsible for the quality of "Hard Copies" or "Electronic Files" submitted for publication purposes







AIDS HELPLINE: 0800-0123-22 Prevention is the cure

IMPORTANT NOTICE

The Government Printing Works will not be held responsible for faxed documents not received due to errors on the fax machine or faxes received which are unclear or incomplete. Please be advised that an "OK" slip, received from a fax machine, will not be accepted as proof that documents were received by the GPW for printing. If documents are faxed to the GPW it will be the sender's responsibility to phone and confirm that the documents were received in good order.

Furthermore the Government Printing Works will also not be held responsible for cancellations and amendments which have not been done on original documents received from clients.

CONTENTS • INHOUD

No. Page Gazette
No. No. No.

GENERAL NOTICE

Water Affairs, Department of

General Notice

GENERAL NOTICE

NOTICE 615 OF 2013



Nominations for chairperson, deputy chairperson and additional members of the Water Tribunal

In terms of section 146 and Item 3 of Schedule 6 of the National Water Act, 1998 (Act 36 of 1998) (the Act), the Honourable Minister of Water and Environmental Affairs Mrs Bomo Edith Edna Molewa, MP, hereby invites nominations for the positions of chairperson, deputy chairperson and additional members of the Water Tribunal (Tribunal) to fill the vacant positions in the Tribunal.

CHAIRPERSON, DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON AND ADDITIONAL MEMBERS

The Judicial Service Commission (JSC) shall receive nominations, shortlist and interview suitable persons qualified in law and make a recommendation of 2 (two) such persons for the Minister to consider and to appoint as the chairperson of the Tribunal.

The Water Research Commission (WRC) shall receive nominations, shortlist and interview suitable persons qualified in water resource management or engineering or with knowledge in related fields, for the Minister to consider and to appoint the deputy chairperson as well as additional members of the Tribunal.

GENERAL

All appointments will be for a period of to be determined by the Minister in terms of section 146 and Item 3 of Schedule 6 of the Act.

The conditions of appointment and the remuneration of the chairperson, deputy chairperson and additional members are determined by the Minister of Water and Environmental Affairs and in consultation with the Minister of Finance.

FUNCTIONS

The activities of the Tribunal will mainly consist of hearing appeals against decisions on entitlements to use water and appeals against directives to remedy a wrongdoing or prevent pollution of water resources. It may also determine compensation when required to do so in terms of the Act.

Functions will also include perusing of case files, undertaking research, hearing of cases and writing rulings.

The chairperson will also perform administrative tasks, particularly the allocation of cases to Tribunal members and monitoring their progress, and writing of reports for Minister, and shall be assisted by the Registrar of the Tribunal in these tasks.

REQUIREMENTS FOR APPOINTMENT

Nominees must be South African citizens, possessing the recognized academic qualifications and applicable experience, and be members of the registered professional bodies.

DISQUALIFICATION OF MEMBERS

No person may hold office as a member of the Tribunal-

- · if that person is an unrehabilitated insolvent, or
- if that person has been convicted of any offence involving dishonesty or has been sentenced to imprisonment without an option of a fine. A disqualification under the above ends 3 (three) years after the sentence has been served.

Nominations must be accompanied by a full curriculum *vitae*, certified copies of the Identity Documents, valid drivers licence and academic qualifications of the nominee and the acceptance of the nomination must be in writing. Every nomination must be signed by a proposer and a seconder, neither of whom may be the nominee.

The nominations must be sent directly to the JSC and the WRC at the addresses below and a copy thereof must be sent to the acting Registrar of the Tribunal, Ms Refilwe Tlhabadira for record purposes.

Enquiries can be directed to the Department of Water Affairs, Chief Director: Legal Services, Mr Anil Singh, at 012 336 8325, e-mail: singhA3@dwa.gov.za or the Acting Registrar of the Tribunal, Ms Refilwe Tlhabadira at 012 336 6825, e-mail: tlhabadirar@dwa.gov.za.

The closing date for receipt of the nominations is Friday, 2 August 2013.

Nominations for Chairperson must be sent to: The Acting Secretary Mr Sello Chiloane Judicial Service Commission, Constitutional Court, Constitutional Hill, Private Bag X1 BRAAMFONTEIN 2017, Tel: 011 838 2019 Fax: 086 649 0944

Email: Chiloane@concourt.org.za

Nominations for the Deputy Chairperson and additional members must be sent to: The Chief Executive Officer Mr Dhesigen Naidoo Water Research Commission, Private Bag X03, GEZINA, 0031 Tel: 012 330 9002 Fax: 012 331 2565

Fax: 012 331 2565 Email: dhesn@wrc.org.za Copies of both Nominations must be sent to: The Acting Registrar of the Tribunal Ms Refiliwe Tlhabadira Water Tribunal Private Bag X316, PRETORIA, 0001 Tel: 012 336 6825 Fax: 012 336 7321

Email: tlhabadirar@dwa.gov.za

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001
Publications: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510

Advertisements: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subscriptions: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737 Cape Town Branch: Tel: (021) 465-7531

Gedruk deur en verkrygbaar by die Staatsdrukker, Bosmanstraat, Privaatsak X85, Pretoria, 0001

Publikasies: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510 Advertensies: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subskripsies: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737

Kaapstad-tak: Tel: (021) 465-7531