

Government Gazette Staatskoerant

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA REPUBLIEK VAN SUID-AFRIKA

Vol. 576

Pretoria, 24 June 2013

No. 36597

N.B. The Government Printing Works will not be held responsible for the quality of "Hard Copies" or "Electronic Files" submitted for publication purposes



36597



AIDS HELPLINE: 0800-0123-22 Prevention is the cure

No.

IMPORTANT NOTICE

The Government Printing Works will not be held responsible for faxed documents not received due to errors on the fax machine or faxes received which are unclear or incomplete. Please be advised that an "OK" slip, received from a fax machine, will not be accepted as proof that documents were received by the GPW for printing. If documents are faxed to the GPW it will be the sender's responsibility to phone and confirm that the documents were received in good order.

Furthermore the Government Printing Works will also not be held responsible for cancellations and amendments which have not been done on original documents received from clients.

CONTENTS • INHOUD Page Gazette **GENERAL NOTICES** Defence and Military Veterans, Department of General Notices

36597

36597

do.: Call for nominations for appointment to the Defence Force Service Commission.....

GENERAL NOTICES

NOTICE 641 OF 2013



MINISTRY OF DEFENCE AND MILITARY VETERANS Republic of South Africa

Private Bag x427, Pretoria, 001, Tel: (012) 355 6119, Fax: (012) 3556139 PO Box 47, Cape Town, 8000, Tel: (021) 787 6070, Fax: (021) 465 5870 http://www.dod.mil.za

NOTICE IN TERMS OF SECTION 62C(7)(b) OF THE DEFENCE ACT, 2002 (ACT NO 42 OF 2002)

On 1 June 2013, the following members were appointed, in terms of section 62A of the Defence Act, 2002, to the Defence Force Service Commission for a period of five years:

- (i) Lieutenant-General (ret) L Moloi;
- (ii) Major-General (ret) JH April;
- (iii) Bridadier-General (ret) DM De Lange;
- (iv) Major-General (ret) HB Holomisa;
- (v) Professor RL Christie;
- (vi) Professor EL Van Harte; and
- (vii) Mr I Robertson.

MS NN MAPISA-NQAKULA, MP

Mosiciuse lug

MINISTER OF DEFENCE AND MILITARY VETERANS

NOTICE 642 OF 2013

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE DEFENCE FORCE SERVICE COMMISSION

The Minister of Defence and Military Veterans, the Honourable Minister Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula (MP), invites nominations in terms of section 62C(1) the Defence Act, 2002, from individuals to serve as Commissioners on the Defence Force Service Commission (DFSC).

In terms of section 62A of the Defence Act, the Minister must establish a Defence Force Service Commission whose main functions will be the following: - Make recommendations to the Minister on improvements in salaries and service benefits of members of the South African National Defence Force on an annual basis; Make recommendations to the Minister on policies in respect of conditions of service; Promote measures and set standards to ensure the effective and efficient implementation of policies on conditions of service within the Defence Force and make recommendations to the Minister in this regard; Perform its functions impartially, without bias, fear or prejudice.

Commissioners serving on the Commission will be appointed either on a full-time or part-time basis, for a period not exceeding five years (5) years. Commissioners who are not in the full time service of the State receive an allowance as compensation for their time.

The nominee must have the proven skills, knowledge and experience in matters relevant to the functioning of the Commission. Knowledge of the South African National Defence Force and conditions of service, as outlined in the Act, would be an advantage. The nominee should not be a serving member of the SANDF and must be a South African citizen. Unrehabilitated insolvents and persons who have been convicted of any offence for which that person has been sentenced to imprisonment without the option of a fine for a period of not less than 12 months, unless a period of five years has expired after the date on which the sentence was served, may not be appointed to the Commission in terms of the Act.

Nominations must include a written acceptance by the nominee together with a detailed curriculum vitae of the candidate. **Nominations should be forwarded**

by mail to the Secretariat Service for the Nomination Committee, Private Bag X427, Pretoria, 0001 or hand-delivered at reception, Armscor Building, c/n Boeing and Nossob Streets.

The closing date for nominations is 5 July 2013 at 16:00.

Nominations received after this date will not be considered.

Nominees who have not been contacted within 2 months of the closing date of nominations should accept that their applications were unsuccessful. Due to the large volume of nominations to be processed, receipt of nominations will not be acknowledged. This is a call for the filling of three vacancies on the Commission, in addition to the seven members already appointed to the Commission.

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001

Publications: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510 Advertisements: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subscriptions: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737 Cape Town Branch: Tel: (021) 465-7531

Gedruk deur en verkrygbaar by die Staatsdrukker, Bosmanstraat, Privaatsak X85, Pretoria, 0001

Publikasies: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510 Advertensies: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subskripsies: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737

Kaapstad-tak: Tel: (021) 465-7531